Photograph by Shannon L. Buck, copyright April 7, 2017. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

Store Closing: Family Dollar in Old Town

I got a message from my sister Sheila today. She was at the Family Dollar in Old Town and was told the store was going to be closing on June 2, 2017. There are no notable sales as of yet, but all sales are final. I did a search and learned that they are closing a few hundred of these stores.

With the closing of Kmart, Macy’s, and now Hands of Hope, the area has already lost a number of jobs. Old Town, not being far from the Bangor area where the other stores have closed, will be another blow.

Online sales is certainly a large contributing factor for the three main stores, though not really for the thrift store, Hands of Hope. Many people like to do their shopping in their spare time, during off hours for stores. And others just don’t want to be bothered with the crowds.

I shop both in store and online at some places, as I know others do. But my favorite shopping method is in-store.

If you’d like to read more about this store closing, you can do so here.

Despite the negative impact another store closing might have, it will also offer a way for customers to buy items they’ll need at a discounted price as we near the closing date. I’ll be watching for sales, and following my own rules for shopping closing sales. Doing so will aid me in saving money on things I know I’ll need and use.

Something you can do to help your community during a store closing: Buy a bag of food or other items to donate to Crossroads Ministries or another charity.

Shannon

Leave a Reply

