Photograph by Shannon L. Buck, copyright January 14, 2017. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

Frugal Finds: Shopping Sales and Goodwill

I usually do my after Christmas shopping within a week after the holiday, so I was a bit late. My year didn’t start as planned, and I had to wait until everything was set before I could have my much needed girls day and do some shopping. Things are pretty well picked over at this point, but I was still able to find some good deals.

The bestest and I went shopping Thursday, in hopes of finding good deals. For the most part, we weren’t disappointed.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck, copyright January 14, 2017. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuckStarting at Wal-Mart, we checked out the Christmas and clearance aisles. Notice the bowl and sundae cup at the top of the photograph.

While the bestest and I were at Wal-Mart we checked out the clearance section. A four-pack of the Pioneer Woman Adeline Snow 10 ounce embossed sundae cups goes for $13.72. That is $3.43 each. By purchasing a single cup at $3.00, I saved $.43 on it. I only need the one cup, so it would have been wasteful to buy more.

I also found a Pioneer Woman Adeline Snow 13 ounce embossed bowl. Sold in four-packs, these cost $17.52, so one bowl would be $4.38. I paid only $3.00 for my bowl, saving $1.38.

One roll of Christmas gift wrap cost $.98, no savings as far as I could tell from the receipt, but the other roll cost $.24, saving me $2.22. Not a bad deal.

The poinsettia gift toppers cost $.14 each, saving me $2.66 for both. I thought it would fancy things up a bit during the next holiday season if I got a bit more creative with the wrapping.

I also picked up 5 Christmas stockings while there. One for me, one for each of my daughters, and one each for Zowie’s husband and Skye’s boyfriend. Little Man already has a stocking at my place. These stockings cost $.09 each, saving me $4.45.

Total Wal-Mart savings = $11.14, plus I got 25 Shopkicks for entering the store.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck, copyright January 14, 2017. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuckWe then went to Mall. I went around getting my Shopkicks, then decided to check out Yankee Candle. I love going in the store, experiencing all the aromas. And I like to try new (to me) scents every so often. The way it was explained to me by the cashier the other day, the scents that are discounted this much after the holidays are usually the scents that aren’t brought back the next year. For me, that is fine. I just want to try something new every so often.

I bought one candle and three tarts in the following scents:

  • Winter Glow
  • Vanilla Bourbon
  • Apple Cider
  • Berry Truffle

Each of these is regularly $1.99, but they were in the $1.00 bins. I was given a 10% discount as well. I spent $3.60.

Total Yankee Candle savings = $4.40, plus 185 Shopkicks from walking by a few select stores and entering theirs.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck, copyright January 14, 2017. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuckMacy’s came next, having already started their closing sale. I didn’t shop too much here because, even with the sales, things cost more than I’m willing to pay. I did find a few items though.

The Cellar White Ware Square plate is interesting, likely because I don’t have much for square items. It caught my eye right away. The plate is usually $3.00, but with the 30% discount I paid $2.10. A $.90 savings.

The round one is a White Elementals Plate. Originally $1.00, I paid $.70, a $.30 savings. Not a bad deal.

I also came across these purple Charter Club Super Soft Socks. They are so soft! Especially luxurious after lotioning up your feet and putting them on. The socks normally cost $10.00 but were on sale at 50% off for $5.00. I decided I was willing to pay that much for my favorite type of socks. The cashier rang them up at $2.50. Bonus! These will be perfect for my Mini At-Home Spa Moments.

Total Macy’s savings = $8.70, plus 300 Shopkicks for entering the store and 15 for scanning an item.

Plus, they wrapped the items in like 14 sheets of tissue paper that I’ll fold in half and use when wrapping gifts, and the bow from the socks can be reused on a gift as well. FREEBIES!

All told, I received 525 Shopkicks for my efforts while shopping. So far my best total for one day.

Total savings = $24.24

But we weren’t done shopping. We also visited our local Goodwill store to look for deals, and I’m pleased with the items I chose.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck, copyright January 14, 2017. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuckI honestly have no idea how much these items would normally cost, so I can’t really calculate a savings for you. I wanted to show you what I bought and paid, though, so you could see what deals you can find for brand new looking items at these thrift stores.

The soup bowl is amazing and, yes, it says “SOUP” right on the front. It cost $2.00 and is well worth the price. A very sturdy bowl, it will hold a good amount of soup. I have another, not exactly the same, that I paid $5.00. The estimated savings on this item would be $3.00.

I love the square bowl, though I’m not entirely sure if it is a bowl or bakeware. Notice the size in relation to the size of the saucer; it isn’t really much bigger. I paid only $1.00 for it, but have no idea how much one would cost normally. If anyone knows if this is just a serving bowl or if it is bakeware, please let me know. For now I’m going to use it for serving.

The small bowl will add some color to a place setting. I paid $1.00 for it, and I think it is the perfect size for cereal or ice cream.

And the saucer is so pretty. The back says Vintage Fine China. I paid $1.00 for this item as well. The saucer will add a splash of color to an otherwise white setting, and I think the round white plate from above will fit over it nicely and still allow for seeing the artwork.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck, copyright January 14, 2017. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuckThe mug has a more interesting design. I like the blue and white, and you can see the yellow ring near the top. This is not a full size mug by any means, but it will be perfect for a little hot cocoa or tea on a cold evening. This mug cost $1.00.

If you look closely at the pictures, you’ll see the burgundy napkins have a design cut out around the edges. Fancy! While these can obviously be used as napkins, I think they would also make good placemats for the place settings that I’ll be creating with the smaller plates, bowls, and cups. The two napkins cost $1.00.

The holiday napkins came as a three-pack, and can also be used as placemats if I want to get fancy at the holidays. The three napkins were $1.00, but I only had to pay $.50.

I paid $7.50 for the items. I wish I could calculate the savings.

Shopping is so much fun! But I don’t generally have much to spend. Searching out deals makes things more interesting, but you do have to be sure you need the items. Shopping strategically is the way to go.

Happy shopping!

Shannon

NOTE: Shopkicks is an app I use on my android phone, that my sister Sheila introduced me to. I’m still learning to use it, and ended up with over 500 Shopkicks on Thursday for entering/walking by stores and scanning an item at one of the stores. When you’ve earned enough kicks, you can get a gift card. I’m saving for a Walmart card. If you click on the Shopkick links in this post and sign up, I’ll get kicks for that, helping me to get to my goal more quickly. It would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

