New Year Goal: Finances – Separating Expenses

I have a debit card. No checking. No credit card. No savings. Just this one card I do everything with. I’ve been thinking lately that I’d be better able to keep track of where my money is going and separate expenses by having more than one account. This would be part of my theme for the new year:

ORGANIZE

These are the main categories of expenses I have:

  1. Rent and things billed to my debit card.
  2. Christmas.
  3. Birthdays and other special occasions.
  4. Groceries and other needs.
  5. Writing expenses.

I think by keeping things separate I’d be less likely to dip into money from other things. I can just tell myself “Nope. There’s no more money on the grocery card. You’ll just have to wait until next week to try that new recipe.” Sounds like it might work.

Do you separate your expenses this way or another? If not, are you as unorganized about things as I am? Maybe you need to come up with a system as well. Now is a good time to sit down and figure out how to keep track of your expenses.

I’m not sure yet exactly how I’ll go about the separation of expenses, but this is a good way to start thinking about it.

Happy New Year!

Shannon

8 thoughts on “New Year Goal: Finances – Separating Expenses

Leave a Reply

