http://www.examiner.com/article/after-holiday-sales-seasonal-clearance-sales

How I’m Saving Money this Holiday Season

The Holiday season can be expensive to get through, and I don’t have all the money in the world. I look for ways each year to save money, starting right after the previous Christmas.

  • After the Yule and Christmas celebrations, I saved all the gift bags, wrapping paper, bows, ribbons, gift boxes, and tags to reuse the next year. Some members of my family also give me theirs, because they know I reuse it all.
  • At the end of December last year, I bought a number of things on clearance saving over 50% of the total cost:

holiday cards

gift wrap

tape

bows & ribbon

gift bags

tissue paper

fillable clear plastic ornaments

  • Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright November 2016.I’ve made a few ornaments using items I already had on hand and the Sharpie Extreme markers the company sent me (free). I made other crafts as well.

 

 

  • Photogrpah by Shannon L. Buck copyright November 21, 2016I cashed in Kohl’s cash that guests at our inn gave to me, as well as some my sister gave me. This netted me 5 gifts for loved ones and a few holiday candles for myself. Free.

 

 

 

  • I’m handing out holiday cards to everyone I can, instead of spending the money to mail them. Obviously, I still mail some.
  • I’ve decided to limit the funds available for the Secret Santa gift, while still giving something the recipient will enjoy.
  • I waited for sales for many of the gifts I’m giving.

How are you saving money this holiday season? Let us know below.

Happy Holidays!

Shannon

 

2 thoughts on “How I’m Saving Money this Holiday Season

  1. I use the Kohl’s cash that I get as tips at work to buy a lot of my gifts. I also shop the clearance racks throughout the year to find gifts, wrapping paper, craft supplies, and other items I use during the holiday season. A lot of my shopping happens right at the dollar store. I learned years ago that I don’t have anyone on my list that can’t be pleased by shopping the dollar stores 🙂

Leave a Reply

