Holiday Toy Safety and Money Saving Tips

Happy Holidays everyone! Isn’t this picture of my grandson just adorable? He is older now, this being his second holiday season, and I want to be sure all his toys are safe for him to be playing with. I also don’t want to have to pay top dollar for everything.

I recently received an email from Kay over at ConsumerSafety.org, who asked if I could share an infographic with you. I agreed because I know all parents want their children to be safe, and have decided to share some of my own tips as well.

holiday-toy-safety

Safety concerns when shopping second-hand

  • When out shopping, you can use your phone to check for recalls on products.
  • Babies and toddlers shouldn’t be given toys with small pieces they can choke on. Look each product over carefully to be sure no pieces detach from the toy.
  • Be sure, especially for infants, toddlers, and small children, battery compartments cannot be easily removed.
  • Make sure eyes on dolls and stuffed animals can not come off, if you will be giving the gift to an infant or toddler.
  • Crayons and markers are popular this time of year, as is playdough. Make sure these and other products are non-toxic, as children are curious and will put things in their mouths.

Saving money on holiday gifts

  • I like to compare and shop online, just like at physical stores. For example, I have Amazon Prime, so get free shipping on most stuff from them. But I also know that Walmart.com offers free shipping on most orders over $50.00. So I’ll check to see where I can get the gifts for the best deal overall. There are other stores that offer free shipping on orders over a certain amount as well. Check out all options for the best deal.
  • Combine sales with coupons when possible.
  • You might also sign up with a points program such as MyPoints or Swagbucks, and start there for your online shopping experience. Choose the store you want to shop at, and it will bring you to the site. Shop, pay, and earn points good toward the purchase of gift cards for stores and restaurants. Use these gift cards to start your holiday shopping for next year. (NOTE: The two links in this tip bring you to sites where I’ll get points if you sign up, because I’m a member of each. Thank you, if you decide to join through a link of mine. I appreciate it, and I hope you get as much value from the sites as I do.)
  • I like their tip about the rewards programs. I’m SYWR member with K-Mart, and have benefited greatly from it. I get a fair amount of items free from that store.
  • If you already are a member of a rewards or points program, do you have enough points to get gift cards that can be used as gifts this year, or that could be used to buy gifts? Now’s the time to check your point balances.
  • To save even more money on next years’ holiday season, shop the after Christmas sales. While the savings aren’t as great as they used to be, they are still deals. Anything you can guess at for the coming year, decorations, gifts, and more, can be purchased at a discount. Again, the added benefit of coupons would be to your advantage. Set a big box in a closet and start filling it with the gifts for next year.

I hope you took important information away from the infographic and tips in today’s post. And I hope you have a wonderful holiday season. I’d love to hear about the deals you find, and your favorite ways to save money at the holidays.

Shannon

Leave a Reply

