Photograph taken by Shannon L. Buck copyright June 9, 2016.

App: Checkout 51

My daughter Skye sent me a link to Checkout 51 the other day and I quickly downloaded the app to my (Android) cell phone. It was easy to sign up with my Facebook account, so I was able to check the app out without much of a wait.

I must say, I’m a proud momma. Obviously she got her fabulous frugal skills from me!

As far as I can tell, all I have to do is browse and choose my offers, shop, and then upload my receipt. I tried it out today, because they were offering $3.00 cash back on the purchase of two bottles of Herbal Essences shampoo and $.75 cashback on the purchase of two cans of pineapple. The processes for choosing the products and uploading the receipt were easy, plus I got an automatic $5.00 for uploading my first receipt within a certain time frame.

Once my balance with Checkout 51 hits $20.00, I can request a check. As far as I can tell, they only pay by check. There is also the option to let the balance build to a greater amount.

I’m considering letting mine build, and cashing it in once or twice a year to go toward stocking my pantry. I think Skye is planning to save hers to put toward holiday shopping. There are many ways this extra money could be used.

The offers they have are for a limited amount of each product, and can often be used with coupons and other discounts. Check the offer details before purchasing. Some online purchases also count. (At this point, I’m wondering if there are other apps I can use as well, for even more savings on the items I choose.)

Their week runs from Thursday at 12:00 AM to Wednesday at 11:59 PM, and they sent my phone a notification when the new offers started.

I can tell you that I don’t buy many of the food items I saw on their list this week and last because I generally try to follow a Paleo diet, buying mostly fresh produce and meats. What else I might buy will depend on coupons, and whether it will still be cheaper after everything to buy the store brand. I did notice bananas on the list last week though, and had I time to shop I would have taken advantage. So I don’t expect to get bunches of money from this, but enough to help with stocking the pantry a little.

What are your experiences with Checkout 51? Do you know of any other apps that may be useful?

Shannon

P.S. The links in this post are referral links to Checkout 51. If you join using a link in this post, you’ll graciously be earning me an extra $5.00. I would appreciate this more than you can imagine, if you are planning to join. Thank you 🙂

P.P.S. The app is FREE!

 

Leave a Reply

