Frugal Holiday Finds

For me, holiday shopping starts as soon as Christmas is over. I begin by picking up clearance items for the next holiday season. Wrapping paper, ribbons, gift bags and boxes, tins, goody bags, small stocking stuffers, holiday cards, and more.

Last year I picked up quite a bit, including a 4-pack of holiday pencils for .49, 7 packs of holiday pins at .25 each, and 3 packages of gift tags at $1.40 each.

Throughout the year I have found some other useful items at thrift stores, like:

  • 2 tins, .25 each.
  • 1 package of holiday cards, .50.
  • 1 package of holiday cards, .75 cents.
  • 3 ornaments, .25 each.
  • 1 garland, .50.

I spend a couple of days up north each November, visiting my daughter Skye. This year we took a trip to Madawaska for a holiday shopping trip, and I treated her to dinner. These were my finds:

Marden’s:

  • 3 floss for personalizing my grandsons first Yule/Christmas ornaments, .69 each.
  • 1 balsam scented candle, $7.99 discounted to $2.99
  • Wide ribbon, .99
  • Package of gift bags, $3.99
  • 3 boxes of holiday cards, $1.99 each discounted to .99 each
  • Greenery candle wreath, .99

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015. Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015.

The Cubby Thrift Store

  • Large Christmas tin, .25.
  • Cast iron winter wall decoration, $1.99
  • 2 red stand cloths, .10 each.
  • 11 ornaments, .10 each

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015.Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015.

K-Mart

  • 10 packages of candy, 10/$1.00
  • Holiday bow, $2.99

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015.

After returning home from my trip, I started looking for a special ornament to  personalize that would celebrate the birth of my first grandson this past June. I knew that I wanted 5 of whatever I chose, so I could have one for myself, plus give one as a Yule/Christmas gift to his parents, his aunt, his great-aunt, and his great-grandparents.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015.I decided on red mitten ornaments from K-Mart. They were $4.99 each, marked down to $3.74. I used .37 in SYW rewards points, and $6.05 in surprise points. My total was $13.00, including shipping, or $2.60 each.

Not a bad deal at all.

I also bought 2 rolls of wrapping paper at the Dollar Tree for $2.00 plus tax.

My grandson needs some size 12 months clothes, as that is the next size he will grow into. I told my daughter I would pick him up a couple of things if I had extra money after the holiday shopping was done. To stretch what little money I had left over, I visited the Goodwill and Hands of Hope, two thrift shops near work. I bought:

Hands of Hope (prices do not reflect the a 10% discount I got)

  • 1 dress shirt $1.00.
  • 2 sleepers, $2.75 each.
  • 1 picture frame (to frame my parents Christmas gift), .99.

Goodwill (I rounded my total up to the nearest dollar for a donation)

  • 3 pairs of pants, $2.00 each
  • 1 shirt, $2.00
  • 1 shirt, .50

What holiday deals did you find this year? Tell us about them in the comments below, or email me privately at shannonlbuck@gmail.com. I answer all emails and comments.

Challenge: Starting right after Christmas, record all purchases for the next holiday season. Note where you got each deal, how much you spent, and what the regular price of the items were. You may need to do a little research for regular prices if you shop yard sales and thrift shops. A close guess is fine. Also, note leftover items from previous years. Come back and let us know how you did next year, or write your own blog post.

Happy holidays! Happy shopping!

Shannon

Leave a Reply

