Book Review: Extreme Couponing- Learn how to be a Savvy Shopper and Save Money… One Coupon at a Time by Joni Meyer-Crothers

These are the bottom shelves of my pantry shelving unit in the little room. Notice the two drawers at the bottom.
These are the bottom shelves of my pantry shelving unit in the little room. Notice the two drawers at the bottom.

Have you ever watched the show Extreme Couponing on TLC? I have seen a few of the episodes, so I was interested in reading this book.

My book review on Goodreads.com:

In this book, Joni Meyer-Crothers walks you through how she does her couponing. Her strategy nets her free items, as well as deeply discounted items, that allow her not only to take care of her family but also to help others on a large scale even while her husband is out of work.

Joni was a single parent for a while, and had gone hungry herself. She knows what saving all that money couponing can mean for a family.

She teaches couponing lingo, explains how to go about making transactions in detail, and walks you through the entire process of couponing for your family and others. And at the end of the book, she gives you more tips for living frugally.

*****

Learn how to save money on food, personal hygiene items, household cleaners and more.

I have used coupons minimally throughout the years, but not like this woman and others do.  My most recent trip to the store did not even net me any free items. However, I saved $3.00 on razors, a dollar on body wash, .50 on butter, and $1.00 on toothpaste, so it was not a total loss.

It is my plan to do far more couponing, but I don’t see me netting all those great freebies and very cheap prices. Why? I can’t seem to find a place that doubles or triples coupons.

Know of any?

Please let us know in the comments, or email me personally at shannonlbuck@gmail.com. And tell us how you save money by using coupons.

NOTE: One way I can see to net freebies, at least minimally, is at the dollar store.

Shannon

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Extreme Couponing- Learn how to be a Savvy Shopper and Save Money… One Coupon at a Time by Joni Meyer-Crothers

Leave a Reply

