Introduction: Sheila Buck – Feature Writer

I would like to introduce everyone to a woman who will be providing us with feature articles every so often. This will help to give another point-of-view on the blog, other than just mine.

Sheila Buck is the single mom of two teenage boys. She has a Bachelor’s Degree in Clinical Psychology. Sheila is a freelance writer, and also writes books and short stories in her spare time. Sheila also writes for Frugal Recipes.

**********************************************************************

My name is Sheila Buck and I am the single mother of two teenage sons. We have always been a low-income family. My family has received food stamps, TANF, and MaineCare through most of the past fifteen years. However, there were also times when we were not receiving TANF, just food stamps and MaineCare.

I have had a few jobs over the years. My first real job was as a housekeeper at a hotel. I worked there for ten years. The company did not offer health or any other types of insurances, and I never made enough to be off state benefits completely.

I went to college full-time and worked at the hotel part-time. It was hard doing all of that and having time for my children, but I made it happen. I graduated in 2009 with my bachelor’s degree in psychology. I was very excited, and believed I was finally going to find a great paying career, with benefits, and my family would finally be off state benefits. I was wrong. The only jobs I could get were making three cents more than I was making before. I couldn’t afford the benefits that the company I worked for offered. This job involved very little hours and a lot of traveling. It came to the point where I couldn’t afford to do it anymore and had to leave. I have been unable to find another job.

I am still trying to pull myself, and my children out of our low-income life. I am still filling out applications and trying to get a job. I have had opportunities, but I never have enough experience. My sister, Shannon, believes I may have what it takes to be a Freelance Writer, so I am writing for a couple of her blogs. She is having me write practice articles, and giving me tips on how to make them better. I am hoping I can earn some extra cash through writing articles.

While in college, my best friend and I took a writing course. We had to build our own science fiction or fantasy world. We really liked the class, and are still creating the world. We have written a few short stories. One has been published, and another will be published this fall. We have also finished our first book, and are doing our first edits. We are hoping to publish this book.

Leave a Reply

