Designer Clothing and Teens

Do teens still think they ‘need’ designer clothing? Amy Dacyzyn touches upon this subject on page 93 of her book The Complete Tightwad Gazette. She says:

“Give your child a clothing budget…Save designer labels…form a parent group against…”

Here are my thoughts:

  • I have a teenager and a 20-year-old. We have always been ‘poor’ and most of their clothes have been hand-me-downs.
  • When I have purchased clothes for them out of need, I have started with thrift shops, yard sales and other second-hand venues.
  • When necessary, I have purchased something new at a store, many times on clearance, and rarely at full price.
  • My 17-year-old tells me that brand is not important. But, she says, Converse and Dickies are the best quality and last longer. However, she does not purchase them brand new because of the expense. Looks are more important than labels.
  • My 20-year-old will wear anything as long as it looks good.
  • Both girls, now that they shop for themselves, yard sale and frequent thrift shops. They are very picky about what they purchase new, if anything at all.
  • They do not read the label to determine if they like something and will purchase it.

Shannon

One thought on “Designer Clothing and Teens

  1. Hey there I found this site by sheer luck, I was browsing Bing for new designer fashion when I came upon your webpage, I must say your site is really cool I truely think the theme, its astounding!. I’m in a bit of a rush in this instance to completely read your blog but I have favorited it and also signed up for your RSS feeds. I will be back in a day or two. Bravo for a great site.

Leave a Reply

