Three Ways to Save and Sharing

On page 42 of The Complete Tightwad Gazette, Amy discusses the three ways in which she saves money: Buying items cheaper, making those items last longer and using those items less.

I would like to add to this list:

  • Barter
  • Accept kindness

Bartering is self-explanatory. Accepting kindness is key. People like to feel as though they are helping. Why not let them? At some point, you will be able to return a kindness so there is no reason to feel bad about accepting anything.

  • My aunt always gave me her children’s hand-me-downs. Once my children were done with these items, I passed them along to my sister whose daughters are younger than mine.
  • My friend cuts my hair for free. We invited her on a trip to Salem with us.
  • My friends and family give me all of their used candle holders, as well as their candle ends. Just before Thanksgiving, my daughter and I are making candles from the ends and using the holders. We will give these recycled candles to friends and family as gifts. They loved the idea so much last year, that they want to keep it going.

Here are some articles dealing with frugalness and the recession that I would like to share with you:

Hope you all have a nice day.

Shannon

One thought on “Three Ways to Save and Sharing

Leave a Reply

