Buying in Bulk

In Amy’s book, The Complete Tightwad Gazette, on page 35, she discusses buying in bulk. I find that I can save money by purchasing like this, especially with certain items:

  • Toilet paper
  • Dish cloths and towels
  • Wash cloths
  • Socks
  • Food items
  • Trash bags
  • Boca burgers
  • etc., etc.

Amy tells us to be sure that we now regular prices. Again, I found this easier before the recession when I could use my price book as a reference.

Buying in bulk can, indeed, save a lot of money.

What items do you purchase in bulk? Where?

Shannon

2 thoughts on “Buying in Bulk

  1. I buy flour, sugar, dried fruit and spices/herbs in bulk. I really should not be eating wheat at all, so I buy various flours in the bulk store where they’re cheaper. I buy spices and dried herbs there, as well: I can fill up a bottle of most seasonings for 25 cents or so, instead of the 3 dollars or more for a new bottle. Because I only buy enough to fill the bottle, I know that my seasonings are always fresh. At holiday season, I buy most of my baking supplies in bulk, including chocolate chips and nuts. Again, they’re fresher, and I can purchase only what I need, not packages that may contain more than that.

    1. Great tips. Many people have food allergies or sensitivities and cannot use wheat products. I have issues with carbs. This can make it difficult to afford food sometimes, but I work through it.

Leave a Reply

