Why is it so Hard to Save Money?

On page 9 of The Complete Tightwad Gazette, Amy discusses the reasons why people find it hard to save money and how they can start doing so.

By saving money, we are referring to saving money on goods, not for savings at this point. Obviously, if you are spending all of your money on necessities, there is no money for a savings yet.

While there are a few items that I will not purchase second hand, these are generally big ticket items. The way that I am saving in order to be able to afford these items is by saving money elsewhere.

  • I am using coupons when they will really save me money.
  • I buy from Dollar stores only when the item is of good quality.
  • I have cut back on disposable items.
  • I have cut back on the amount of processed foods that we eat.
  • I try not to purchase anything unnecessary.
  • I have a yardsale most years.

What do you do to save money?

Shannon

6 thoughts on “Why is it so Hard to Save Money?

  1. We empty our pockets/change purse into a change jar. About once a year we turn the change into “cash”. We contribute ours to a local charity, but you would be amazed at what you can collect and never miss.

  2. One of the main things I do is use cloth diapers & shop at baby resale shops. I’ve used a combination of cheap prefolds with diaper covers & several fuzzi bunz diapers. Most of them are even one size adjustable, so they have lasted over a year already & will probably still fit until she is fully potty trained. I find them very easy to use & I don’t have to worry about coming up with money to buy diapers all the time. I wish more people would give it a shot.
    <a href="http://clothdiapercovers.info&quot; Cloth Diapers

Leave a Reply

