Ways to Earn Extra Money

By Shannon Buck – Copyright December 2006



I know what it is like to be a little short on bill money sometimes. I have had my electricity cut off a few times myself, when my children were little. It can be embarrassing, and it will cost you more in the long run. I have learned to sign up for payment plans whenever I can.

There are many ways to earn extra money. One year I worked the holiday season at Toys R Us. I really enjoyed it. It helped me to afford to pay the bills for a couple of months, and I was even able to buy Christmas presents for everyone.

My father used to pay me $20.00 a week to clean his bedroom and bathroom once each week. The first time I cleaned for him, it took me a few hours (he was not one for cleaning!), but each week afterwards it took me little time. I would say about 1/2 an hour, plus the time to do his laundry.

You could offer to do yardwork for people during the warmer months, and snowplow or shovel during the winter. You could also offer to do simple maintenance for people.

Running errands for people could bring in some extra cash, plus the cost of gas. If you ran your errands at the same time, then you wouldn’t even be using much extra gas.

For those who wish to stay home, you can do other things. You can babysit, but I only suggest this if you truly like children. It can be very demanding. Some children are not easy to handle, and rarely will the family you are babysitting for have the same morals and values that you do. However, childcare can also be very rewarding, and a lot of fun.

If a neighbor is away a lot, they may need a pet sitter. All you do is make sure the pet is fed, walked, and/or has a clean litter box. Love the pet, and you may be asked to watch after the pet on a regular basis. I do this for one of my neighbors and make $10.00 – $20.00 a week, depending on how much my neighbor is away from his home.

You may also be able to secure a job housesitting if a neighbor travels a lot. This would be checking to make sure that no one breaks in, making sure the place is locked up, watering plants, making sure the pipes do not freeze… Whatever the owner needs. This does not take much of your time at all.

I used to type letters and such for my father. It was worth it to work for an hour or two for another $10.00 – $20.00 every so often.

If you enjoy the task, you could do peoples taxes. This will help you to pay off those holiday bills, pay the current bills, and maybe even stock your pantry.

There are a lot of different opportunities to earn extra money. Honestly, most of the opportunities that I have had were not ones that I seeking. I just new people who needed the services.

What types of this are you able to do that could be a source of income for you? Make a list, stick it on your refrigerator, and look for opportunities to put your list into action.
One thought on “Ways to Earn Extra Money

Leave a Reply

