Dumpster Diving

Would I actually do this? No, mostly. If I happen to see something useful on top of a dumpster or trash can, or next to either, then I have no problem taking it. However, I am careful to be sure that nothing gross was touching it, and I can’t ever imagine getting into a dumpster.

Why? Well…I am a bit of a germiphobe. I don’t like yuckiness, though I don’t mind playing in the dirt and composting. Go figure.

Anyway, I see nothing wrong with other people doing this. You may want to make sure that it is legal in your area first, but I do believe that there are many freegans in many places who probably don’t care if it is legal or not. I saw a show once where people got a bag full of perfectly good food at a bakery or some sort of restaurant. The stuff is thrown out separately from other trash. And it was free.

Here are some sites for your reading pleasure:

Dumpster Diving at All Things Frugal

Dumpster Diving and Trash Recycling for Fun and Profit at TheLivingWeb.net

How to Dumpster Dive at Treehugger.com

How Freegans Work on How Stuff Works

Not Buying It at nytimes.com

Freegan Kitchen

One thought on “Dumpster Diving

Leave a Reply

