Spring, Summer and Fall Clean-Up

I’m sure that you all notice that people in your, and surrounding, towns often have spring clean up times. They are allowed to put things by the roads to be taken away. It sits there for a while before this happens. There is a reason for that. It is a great recycling program.

Now, notice that some of the people in your, and surrounding, towns put things out there at other times of the year as well. This is because some people do not have the opportunity to do this during spring clean-up.

I used to take advantage of this a lot. I still do when I see something that I can use. We acquired a great many things this way. For free. Here is some of what I have picked up on the side of the roads that I have traveled:

  • a perfectly good grill
  • a big bean bag chair for each of my daughters
  • a huge stuffed animal for each of them
  • other toys
  • some clothes
  • canning jars
  • a bike
  • many books for all of us
  • an area rug
  • planters
  • lawn chairs

I have seen many other perfectly usable items as well, such as:

  • refrigerators
  • stoves
  • washers
  • dryers
  • kiddie pools
  • swing sets
  • beds
  • sofas
  • chairs
  • tables

My motto is, everything that I can find used is something less going into to a landfill. I have another one, free is good.

Shannon

One thought on “Spring, Summer and Fall Clean-Up

Leave a Reply

