Caring for Your House Plants with Minimal Cost

House plants are actually pretty easy to care for. You want to know a few things to start with, like:

  • Does the plant need full sun?
  • Will it do well in a partially sunny window?
  • How about a shady window?
  • Does it need to be in a window at all?
  • Does the plant like to be root bound? Some do, some don’t.
  • Will it do well in a small pot?
  • If so, will I need to switch to a larger pot later?
  • If so, can I save time and money by putting it in a larger pot now?

Once these questions are answered, I purchase and assemble what I need:

  • pots and hangers
  • cheap potting soil
  • root powder if necessary
  • water
  • dried, crushed egg shells

I do a few things when I pot a plant:

  • I first disinfect the pot, if it was already used, by washing it in vinegar and water.
  • I then allow the pot to dry thoroughly, sometimes helping the process along with a towel.
  • I fill the pots most of the way with soil, leaving enough space in the middle for the plant itself.
  • If necessary, I dip the plant in water and then in root powder.
  • I put the plant into the soil.
  • Then I add more potting soil until the plant roots/parts are successfully submerged in the soil.
  • I pat it all down.
  • I sprinkle the crushed eggshells over the top of the soil.
  • I water it well, and hang it.

I do not water every day, though you may find that some plants require this. I have a spider plant and two porthos. I water them each every two or three days, and once a month I turn the pots on their hooks for more even growing. I will not be able to do this when they get fuller, because I will have to keep the long parts attached to the wall with hooks. I will not want any of them breaking off the mother plants.

I have them in big enough pots that I should not have to replant. The spider plant is in a bit smaller pot, but it likes to be root bound. It is also in the sunny window, while the porthos plants are in the back windows, getting relatively few hours of direct sunlight a day during the summer months.

I will, at the turn of each season, add more dried, crushed egg shells, as this is a good fertilizer for them. I simply rinse the egg shells from cooking, let them dry a couple of weeks, and crush them.

As for the spider plant, some of its babies will surely fall off eventually, no matter how careful you are. I am waiting to see if the same happens with the porthos.

When this does happen, simply root the babies/parts in water, or use root powder, and plant these in a new container. You may be able to plant up to a few at once in a big enough pot. This is a good way to get free plants. You could also give these two others.

Shannon

Leave a Reply

