Cheap Holiday Gifts, Early but Necessary

Okay, so it is a while before the holidays will be here. I know. But I am preparing for this now. Here are some of the things that I have done/will be doing:

1. I spoke to family and friends and told them that we would not be doing much – same as every other year.

2. We cut 1 holiday party out all together, and will be spending time with friends rather than focusing on gifts. We have agreed to just do something small for gifts.

3. I have been yard saling, and have come across some things very cheaply that will be used as gifts. I had planned on giving all of the holiday items that I had been picking up to my daughter for her first apartment (she will be moving soon), but I will choose a couple and give the rest to others. Here is what I found:

  • 2 sets of brand new holiday plate sets.
  • Many ornaments that can be divvied up.
  • Holiday kitchen towel sets.
  • Holiday lights.

I paid less than $10.00 for everything.

4. I had purchased cute decorative kitchen towels, pot holders, etc., at Wal*Mart after Christmas for 10 cents each, that were going to look really cute in my kitchen, but I will give them away as gifts as well.

5. While helping a neighbor move, I acquired a variety of very nice necklaces, bracelets and earrings. I will give these to my daughters.

6. I am hoping to get a bunch of people to help me to put together a care package for my daughter who is moving. It will hold food, cleaners, shampoo, etc., and it will be from all of us.

7. I may make homemade mini cakes and hot cocoa packets for my nieces and nephews. There are many.

8. I have also collected many candles at yard sales. My nephew and I will be collected flowers from nature and drying them. I have some ribbon that we can use to tie the dried flowers around the candles for a decorative touch. I paid less than $5.00 and have quite the overabundance of candles.

***

I still have some considerations to make, and will let you know if I come up with any other ideas.

5 thoughts on “Cheap Holiday Gifts, Early but Necessary

  1. You are wise to plan ahead for the holidays. My list is small for Christmas but I’m needing to lessen what we will give. Homemade will be key here too. I think Christmas is way too commercial. I think giving should be when we want to, not when society tells us to. Something from your heart will be really appreciated. I’m sure your loved ones and friends will understand.

  2. Hi! I just ran across your Blog while I was looking up ways to sell some of the handmade baby onesies I sew. I think you are doing a GREAT job living “low income”. You have some great ideas that ANYONE can use. Now that I’ve said that, I must say that hearing your daughter is moving out and you are wanting to put together a package of things she can use, I would love to help out with that. I know you don’t know me, but I was remembering what it was like to move out on my own then get married and live off beans and rice and have to scrimp and save and be so careful. I remember not having enough gas to get to work and not having $ to buy any either. I think maybe I ran across your blog thru means other than my own. Please, let me send you a few things to put in her basket, it would be my pleasure to help her get off to a good start! I would be happy to send you my email privately. Cheryl

  3. You sound like a very happy and well grounded individual who knows that things aren’t important, but people are. -it’s our relationships that last forever,not things.good luck to you and your daughter and god bless.

Leave a Reply

