Gave up the DirecTV

We have terrible television reception in our home. Maybe it is because we live in a trailer, but I don’t know for sure. Even with an antenna, we will still only get one or two channels normally.

We have not always had DirecTV, but I just love it. There are just some channels that you can get only with the package that I had.

During the winter months, in particular, we watch a lot of good shows with the DirecTV, so it broke my heart last week when I had to get rid of it. We had the service for two blissful years, and enjoyed every moment of it. It will be greatly missed.

We will not notice the absence too much until snow flies again, but I just can’t afford to keep it. Not when I’m not sure that I will even be able to continue to pay the electric and oil bills, and the lot rent.

It was nice while it lasted.

This will save us a lot of money.

Shannon

Post Scriptum: We do have two converter boxes which I will be attempting to hook up soon. Do you need an outdoor antenna for these? I hope not, because I don’t see us getting one.

One thought on “Gave up the DirecTV

  1. Hi, I’m visiting from another blog, but wanted to comment on the convertor boxes. We’ve never had cable so recently bought the convertor boxes & switched them. You don’t necessarily need an outdoor antenna, but you do have to have some sort of antenna for these to work. We bought the cheap RCA antennas at Walmart for around $8 each and they work fairly well (suburb of Knoxville). Depending on where you live & antenna capabilities, you should be fine with just that. There are times when it cuts out but it’s rare.

Leave a Reply

