Homemade Laundry Detergent

My nephew and I recently made  a batch of homemade powdered laundry detergent. It is supposed to work very well, and is also supposed to be fine for baby clothes.

We doubled the recipe so that I won’t have to make it as often. I have read that 1/8 cup per load should be enough, maybe just a tablespoon for baby clothes. I will experiment to figure out what will work best in my machine.

Here is the way to tell how much (store bought detergent) you need: Measure small amount into washer under where the water falls when you turn it on. If it suds’, you are fine. If not, add another small amount.  I use less than 1/2 cup per load.

As for this mixture, I hear that suds is not an indicator of cleanliness, so I’m not sure that it will suds much. I will have to see.

My nephew and I doubled this recipe so that it would last longer.

1 box washing soda

1 box borax

1 bar fels naptha soap, grated

All of the above are found in the laundry aisle at our local grocery store, Hannaford.

Just mix them all together in a container with a lid.

Leave a Reply

