Laundry Tips

Maintenance: Once a month, run an empty washer with 1 cup of vinegar.

Safety: Once a month, clean your dryer filter. Mine is at the top of my dryer. Pull it out and scrub both sides of the screen with water, soap and a toothbrush.

Money Savings:

I will be trying vinegar as a fabric softener. I understand that we can use the downy ball with the vinegar as well. I will fill to the fill line and see what happens.

If you run out of laundry detergent. Use a squirt of dish detergent. One winter, I didn’t even buy laundry soap. I had purchased a large number of bottles of Dawn dish detergent at the dollar store, with buy 1 get 1 free coupons. I used them for both dishes and clothing.

2 thoughts on “Laundry Tips

  1. Just found your blog & I’m working thru the old posts.
    How did you like the vinegar as a rinse? It’s all I’ve used as a fabric softener for over 10 yrs! It works great for me, then I line dry my clothes, even in the winter. When I’m in SoCal, that’s not a problem. But, when I’m in Missouri, at the farm it takes a few days. The clothes dry, even when it’s freezing. It just takes longer. If it rains, I get an extra rinse. I do have to have extra clothes tho. 🙂

Leave a Reply

